Book vs. Movie

I saw “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory” last weekend. As usual,
Johnny Depp is perfect for Tim Burton’s movies. But aside from that, in
some scenes (I won’t tell you which because it will then be considered
a spoiler for those who haven’t seen the movie AND read the book), I
think, you’ll begin to wonder if this movie is really Tim
Burton’s. 

Anyway, I was lucky enough to have had the chance to read both “Charlie
and the Chocolate Factory” and “Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator”
when I was a kid. I did see the earlier version of the movie “Charlie
and the Chocolate Factory”, and I have to say the Tim Burton remake is
much better and sophisticated (well, duh! of course…). But when a
movie like this (based on a book) was made, it will then leave no (or
little) room for imagination. I remember, when I was little, that I
always wondered how the bed on which Charlie’s 4 grandparents slept
looked like, how the Oompa Loompas looked like, etc. But now that I’ve
seen the movie, Johnny Depp’s face will always come into mind if I
re-read the book (not that I mind, since he’s dark and handsome…
Hehehe). Ah, you get the point-lah…

I just feel sorry for the kids nowadays, because they don’t have much
time to fantasize. Everytime a good book is published, the moviemakers
will then race to make the movie out of it. Take Harry Potter, for
instance. How long did it take you to replace the face of
your-version-of-Harry-Potter with the face of  Daniel Radcliffe?
Frankly, I saw the movie first (after my sister insisted) before
reading the book(s). And yeah, the image of Daniel Radcliffe follows me
until this day.

Different case with “The Lord of the Rings”. I also read the (3) books
after seeing the first and second sequels. Aside from my opinion that
if Tolkien had been alive he wouldn’t have chosen Elijah Wood as Frodo,
the beautiful scenery and the intricate designs of people and places
awed me so much that I don’t mind not seeing parts that are in the
books but were not included in the movies. The making of LoTR enriches
the imagination, not the other way around, at least that’s what I
thought.

Well, I’m sure you have your own experience with a “book vs movie” situation. Wanna share?

6 thoughts on “Book vs. Movie

  1. I once read “the Pianist” after seeing the movie and ended up quite disappointed with Adrien Brody, though he is a brilliant actor. The Vladislav that I captured in the book was much more humane and gentle. But it's my fault though, it's just not fair comparing books and movies.

  2. my biggest dissapoinment was “Pelican Brief” (John Grisham). Bukunya seru banget, thrillernya kena banget, tapi pas gw nonton filmnya…eerrk! Alurnya datar2 aja & kayak pgn cepet2 selesai.
    Bener seh, kalo kita udh nonton film (yg based on some book) jadi agak males baca bukunya karena “ngawang2nya” udah t'kontaminasi sama muka2 pemeran filmnya.

    🙂

  3. I think it's quite fair to compare books and movies, especially when the movies are made based on the books, not just “inspired” by them. I mean, the point in making the movies out of books is to visualize what's in the books, right?
    Of course they cannot satisfy everybody because each of us has different perception of the characters, the scenes, etc. But that's why they have to do a research before making the movies… (probably ask as many people about what or how they think the characters should be or look like, etc.?)… and work from there.

    I just hate it if they change the ending of a based-on-book movie just for the sake of the movie. >.<

Leave a Reply

